KL Monorail

KL Monorail Trainset

KL Monorail is the only functioning monorail service in Malaysia. It serves mainly Kuala Lumpur’s golden triangle area.

Opened on August 31st 2003, the construction was done at a cost of RM 1.18 billion by KL Infrastructure Group (KL Infra). After a series of takeovers, it is now operated by KL Star Rail, a fully-owned subsidiary of Syarikat Prasarana Negara Berhad (SPNB).


KL StarRail Sdn. Bhd used to be the operator for this rail line.


Stations / Stops

When KL Monorail service initially started, it operates with just two-carriage monorails. However, all stations are constructed to accommodate four-carriage monorail sets. Therefore, when four-car monorail sets were introduced recently, no major renovations were needed for the stations. All stations are at above-grade level.

KL Sentral (accessible through Nu Sentral indoor walkway) – Transfer to Kelana Jaya Line, KLIA Transit / Ekspres, KTM Intercity, KTM Komuter

Jalan Tun Sambathan


Hang Tuah – Transfer to Ampang Line


Bukit Bintang

Raja Chulan

Bukit Nanas – Out-of-system transfer to KL Monorail

Medan Tuanku

Chow Kit

Titiwangsa – Transfer to Ampang Line


Fare Information

KL Monorail uses unified ticketing system with other RapidKL rail services, such as Kelana Jaya Line and Ampang Line.


Rolling stock

For the first phase, KL Monorail utilizes ALWED 2-carriage monorail. It is built in Malaysia, hence the “Buatan Malaysia” logo on the monorail.


Future plans

coming soon



  1. RapidKL Official website