Rail services in Malaysia

Johor Bahru – Singapore Rapid Transit System (RTS)

KL Monorail

KLIA Ekspres

KLIA Transit


KTM Intercity

KTM Komuter

Kuala Lumpur – Singapore High Speed Rail (KL-SG HSR)

LRT Ampang Line

LRT Kelana Jaya Line

LRT Sri Petaling Line

MRL East Coast Rail Line (ECRL)

MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang (SBK) Line

MRT Sungai Buloh – Serdang – Putrajaya (SSP) Line

Sabah State Railway

Rail Transport in Malaysia

In 2014, the annual ridership for rail transport throughout Malaysia is 230 million. On the same year, KTM Berhad has introduced KTM ETS service servicing multiple railway stations from Kuala Lumpur to Ipoh, Perak.

In 2015, KTM Berhad has expanded KTM ETS service further by introducing the new route all the way to Padang Besar.

As of 2018, there is no KTM ETS service yet between Gemas and Johor Bahru. The official start date for the project is 1 January 2018 and it is expected to be completed by the fourth quarter of 2021.


  1. Free Malaysia Today (FMT):